Daily Archives: November 17, 2011

Romanians are Smart

Today while going through Facebook’s news feed, I ran across a campaign that couldn’t possibly leave me indifferent.

On the 1st of December, Romania celebrates its national day. With this occasion, ROM, an old rum-chocolate brand, decided to launch the campaign Romanians are Smart. The idea behind it is that if you type in the Google search bar Romanians are, the suggestions that pop up are far from putting us in a good light. Therefore the wish is to change Romania’s image by searching the phrase Romanians are smart (in English as well as other well known languages) so that hopefully, in the future, it will be among Google’s search suggestions.

Personally I haven’t faced any problems caused by the fact that I am Romanian. But I know that many of my friends did and it is just unfair that the whole world judges us without even being aware of how Romanians actually are. Our country is famous all over the world due to the gypsies that only know how to cheat and steal. But what people forget is that the fact that they speak Romanian doesn’t actually mean they are Romanians. As a matter of fact many years ago the gypsies from Romania fought to be recognized as Roms.

When foreigners come to visit Romania, they are so surprised by what they find that some of them never want to leave again! A friend of mine told me about this American guy that calls himself Sam the Romanian one. He left US for good to become a Romanian and he is very proud of it! His motto is I’m more Romanian than you. So if he can be proud of it, than so should we.

And if I still haven’t convinced you, here’s a video that maybe will. I hope that next time you’re on Google you’ll give us a hand and tell the world that Romanians are smart!