Daily Archives: November 13, 2011

Mortens aften

On the 11th of November, Danes celebrate Mortens aften (Saint Martin’s evening). That is why I spent my evening yesterday with Jesper’s family.

Saint Martin was appointed bishop of Tours on the 11th November 371. The most famous legend says that the pious Morten would not agree to be appointed bishop. He therefore hid in a goose-house to avoid it. However, cackling geese betrayed him and it is said that Morten as bishop decided that every year the geese should be punished for to betraying him – by slaughtering and eating them.

In Jesper’s family the goose has been replaced by duck. As in Romania we don’t celebrate St. Martin, for me this day meant enjoying some really nice Danish food and practising my Danish. Now that my communication skills have improved slightly, it seems like Jesper’s niece and nephew have rediscovered me. They seemed very delighted that they could finally interact with me without me calling for translation help. And this is all just in time as in one week I have my fourth Danish exam. But more about that later!