CS Day

Computer Science day is a way to provide information about what happens at the department’s research areas and in a tightly scheduled two and a half hours program the attendants will be introduced to the research fields at Computer Science. The Computer Science Day is thus a unique opportunity for anybody with an interest in computer science and IT to get a full view of the broad range of impressive computer science research performed in Aarhus.

It is an yearly event which has been organized for the first time 6 years ago. Each research group gives a ~10mins presentation which should briefly introduce the group and their main interests, followed by one or two recent results. It is up to the group to decide who is responsible for it and it seems that at BiRC it was, more or less decided, that PhD students and post docs should be the ones to give the talk. Last year it was Andreas’ turn and as him and I are the only PhD students with CS background left at BiRC, the duty fell in my hands.

The event took place last week and the attendance was, I dare say, quite impressive. I think my biggest problem with that was that I’ve never given a talk to more than 30 people (max 40) so it was a first for me to have an amphitheater that was, more or less, full. So, with enough nervousness, I proceeded to give my 10mins talk in 8. Luckily I didn’t speed up during… I just spoke faster than I planned to. I have been told afterwards that it is quite normal to speed up during a talk when you’re nervous, but that it is a good thing I kept a… constant pace. Even though some might argue that it was a fast one.

All in all, I think it was ok. At least I have been told so…


Slides preview


2 responses to “CS Day

Leave a comment