Daily Archives: May 28, 2012

Oxford

It has been almost 2 years since I spent 6 weeks in Oxford for a summer school. It was the period when I just started this blog and a lot of exciting things happened. It was a great experience and when I was offered the chance to take part in it once more, my answer was… yes!

When I was there last, we were 12 students divided in 4 groups. Each group worked on a project, supervised by some experienced bioinformatics researchers. However the school has been growing with each year and there will be 36 students this summer. Quite a big increase I would say. More students require more people to help them, people which I will call, from now on, supervisors. Of course there are quite a few in Oxford already, some PhD students, post docs and senior researchers, but it is generally the case that the PhD students have more time to get involved and help the students. So it was decided that each group (6 in total) should have at least one PhD student for a supervisor…

And this is where I come in! I have started working on my new upcoming role since this winter by making a couple of project descriptions. Now we are finalizing them and setting everything up so the students can start working from the moment they arrive in Oxford.

I find this very exciting but it also made me think a bit more about how things are changing around me. This and my increasingly number of gray hairs (yes, I’m getting old) made me think about me slowly becoming a grown-up and having more responsibilities than liberties. It is a bit scary that I will be, more or less, responsible for 6 students. Hopefully things will go well… Until then, I still have to pass a Danish oral exam…