A brand new year

I’m back from Copenhagen now. It was certainly an entertaining experience. The party was not really a party, just some drinks and chips that we enjoyed outside the University building.

I have been in Copenhagen before but I never used the subway. I was very impressed to see that there is no driver. Everything is automated which makes it a bit weird, a bit like one of those Sci-Fi movies. I particularly like that I could actually see the tunnel we were going into, through the front window. They definitely used ingenious people to design it, the tracks are going down immediately after the stops, to help the train gain speed without using too much power and when the train approaches the next stop, the tracks go up to help the train slow down. I though it was pretty neat, it was the first time I saw a subway with no driver!

I also had the pleasure to see a gay parade yesterday. Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me. But I can tell you that some had, to say the least, very interesting costumes (I would not call them clothes). And the funniest thing I saw at the parade was Policemen on bikes! I never imagined something like this would be possible, even though Danish people use bicycles quite a lot. Almost all the bikes accessories had a text saying “Police”. That was awesome :)

Tomorrow the new University year starts. I only have one course the first quarter of the year, it shouldn’t be very demanding. I will have to work on other things though and I intend to carry on with the project from Oxford. And hopefully I will start on some Danish courses too.

But for now the exciting summer is over. I can feel nevertheless that more exciting things will come, starting with me moving to a new place (soon!).


2 responses to “A brand new year

Leave a comment